40 Poems in 40 Days – Part 7

So it’s day 7 now and I’m beyond 1/6th of the way through my challenge.   I’m honesty feeling a little tired at the moment through juggling various commitments, but I’m still confident.   As promised, the poem today is the sibling poem to yesterday’s one, so expect similar themes, albeit communicated in a very different style and with a much bleaker outlook.   I’ve liked William Blake’s Songs of Innocence and Experience since I studied them at school and was particularly fascinated by the way that the poems that could be paired, so consider this a heads-up that there may be several more two-part poems on the horizon in the coming weeks (although not necessarily on the themes of Innocence and Experience).   Anyway, hope you enjoy today’s!

 

River Drought

There was a river here ago,

It’s source has now run dry

And now one wouldn’t ever know

That something here once died.

 

Where once bright flowers grew and bloomed

And milk and honey flowed,

Babylon’s raiders have consumed –

I’m forced to leave my home.

 

Am I condemned to e’er lament

And hope springs round the bend?

With holy water I’m content

And never thirst again.

Explore posts in the same categories: Creative Writing, Death, Lent Challenge, Love, Poem, Religious

Leave a comment